CQ Rumble Round 1

The opening round of the CQ rumble Series was held over the weekend in Rockhampton with 15 cars greeting the green flag. The Field was split into 2 heats Cohen Archer stormed to a flying lead in the first heat after Joel Josefski and Mick Pronger both made heavy contact with the turn two fence on lap two putting an early end to Joels Night. Cohen was followed home by AJ Josefski and Gary Edwards, Mick was able to continue after some helpful spares from the other drivers after dropping his second heat. Heat 2 saw Brad Metcalf and Jamie Korte were out to show they meant business with a 1st and 2nd followed by Phil Roberts in 3rd. Heat 3 saw Phil Roberts take the lead from Jason Allen in his first meeting back at Rockhampton speedway after a lengthy time away from the seat Richard Tarrent rounded out the top 3 after Tony Schmidt and Gary Edwards came together on the front straight leaving Gary nowhere to go sending his Stallard in to a series of flips ending Edwards night. Heat 4 once again saw Brad Metcalf and Jamie Korte take the chequer followed by Kenny newton in his PMP (was a PMP chassis 1,2 and 3). Heat 5 saw Phil Roberts get the jump on Metcalf leading brad home to take the win followed home by Cohen Archer in 3rd. Heat 6 saw Mick Pronger return to the track after his heavy crash in the first heat to claim victory from Richard Tarrent and tony schmidt in 3rd. The Final saw 11 cars start with Brad Metcalf start of Pole with Roberts out of position 2. The final was run from green to chequered flag. Brad had his work cut out for him to hold of a hard charging Phil Roberts when they came up to the lapped cars who didn’t see a lapped flag put out having a battle of their own. Brad took the win followed home by Cohen Archer, Phil Roberts, Richard Tarrent, Mick Pronger, AJ Josefski, Tony Schmidt and Mal Cooper with Kenny Newton Jason Allen and Luke Schmidt all having to pull in. The two JRNS that have stepped up in to the senior ranks this was their first meeting stating in the field. With young Gladstone driver Luke Schmidt gaining more and more confidence behind the wheel every time he takes to the track he had more points than his Father going into the final well done Luke. Young lady racer Brooke Etherden had a tough night driving the Josefski Family Racing car after fuel dramas in her first heat forcing her to pull in she came out for a 4th in her second heat beating her team mate home. Her final Heat the R6 let go throwing a rod out the bottom of the motor ending Brookes night.
The Rumble now moves on to Gladstone Speedway on the 19th NOV for Round 2
1. Q9 Brad Mecalfe 95
2. Q63 Phil Roberts 84
3. Q56 Cohen Archer 76
4. Q74 Richard Tarrent 65
5. Q11 Jamie Korte 64
6. Q49 AJ Josefski 50
7. Q16 Jason Allen 40
8. Q30 Tony Schmidt 37
9. Q42 Mick Pronger 35
10. Q76 Luke Schmidt 32
11. Q44 Kenny Newton 31
12. Q35 Mal Cooper 31
13. Q85 Gary Edwards 17
14. Q75 Brooke Ehtreden 14
15. Q41 Joel Josefski 0

October Newsletter

Hi Everyone,
Wow it’s a crazy time at the moment with the season in the south of our state now in full swing with Brisbane, Curtis coast & Maryborough clubs having all run meetings or about to!
Liam Williams is certainly on a roll winning all 3 Brisbane club meetings to date! Between Liam in the south & Kaydon Iverson in the north winning just about every time they hit the track it just justifies why they are no 1 & 2 in the country.
Marlin City/Tom Casey memorial in Cairns Kaydon Iverson 1st Ryan Skennar 2nd Billy Foyle 3rd.
Brad Metcalfe picked up the win in rocky in round 1 of CQ rumble & a congratulations to all the recent winners.
Mackay also ran a 2-day show over the October long weekend.
Car counts are on the up & up in Brisbane with the club averaging 18 cars a night so far this season & they also had 5 new competitors at the start of the season! so come on everyone support your local club & let’s get behind the clubs in your area & get your car counts up!
Curtis Coast have round 2 of the CQ rumble on Nov 19 Brisbane have round 3 of KRE series on Nov 5 at Archerfield & round 4 at Gatton in Nov 19, Maryborough is running their first meeting on Nov 26 so let’s support all these clubs.
The juniors are going from strength to strength with 10 cars currently racing in Brisbane & Cairns have 2 trained & doing demonstration runs, these kids are doing a fantastic job at showcasing the class. Below is a photo of the 2 new juniors running in Cairns on the weekend Brodie Davis and Ash Ewing well done.

img_0859Rule book, we’ve recently had some issues with some interpretations of some of the rules! The situation is that if you’re in doubt of any of the rules then please ask for clarification as this will eliminate disappointment or confrontation.
Website!! You all should be aware the we have a fantastic new website & currently Judy Iverson in the north & Emma Harvey in the south have been trained to upload info to the site, so if anyone wants to add something to website then please contact them. This website is an information source for all the clubs in the state so please use it. I would like say a huge thank you to Jeffrey Moore from JAK industries for creating the website for us & making it so user friendly.

Thanks Tony Cochrane

Williams’ Winning Ways

Round two of the KRE F500 Championship Series saw current Australian Champion Liam Williams storm to his third victory of the 2016-17 season at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway on Saturday night.

Starting out of position two for the 15-lap feature race alongside pole-sitter Graham Williams, Liam Williams immediately took the lead after getting the jump off the line, a position he retained for the remainder of the race. Defending Series Champion Kaydon Iverson improved one place to finish in the runner-up spot, while Tristan Johnson put in a fantastic drive to take the final podium place, after starting eighth.

Graham Williams finished just off the podium ahead of Ryan McNamara, who held on to his fifth-place starting position. Rounding out the finishers were Charlie Brown, Piper Ogilvie, Bryn Upshall, Brad Van Elswyk, Tomas Partington and Royce Harvey.

Kristin Brown was forced to retire early with mechanical issues, while Glen Douglas joined her on the infield after rolling during the first lap. James Kennedy was unable to start the feature race due to engine problems, with Vicki Canfield and Ethan Eyears also unable to start.

Earlier in the night, the drivers battled it out in their heat races where they faced tough track conditions, which later improved for the feature race, making it extremely difficult to pass. Kristin Brown was victorious in the opening heat race, with Graham Williams and Kaydon Iverson winning heat races two and three respectively.

The Brisbane Formula 500s will return to Archerfield Speedway on November 5 for round three of the KRE F500 Championship Series.

The Brisbane Formula 500 Club is proudly supported by KRE Race Engines. To find out more about KRE Race Engines, visit www.kreraceengines.com.au or LIKE them on Facebook by searching KRE Race Engines. Associate supporters are Ian Boettcher Race Parts and Myla Graphics.